5 Senses of October

Last month I started my “5 Senses of the Month” series and I know I’m a few days late… but November literally came out of nowhere. Without further adieu, here are 5 things for each of our 5 senses for the month of October!

800px-Mini_pumpkins

TOUCH

Tart-Kya-Grey-Fur-Vest-188“Vest weather, best weather.” I added a ton of vests to my collection this season and have been layering them on a bunch of different outfits for the perfect combination of warmth and style. From J. Crew’s Excursion to vineyard vines’s Westerly fleece vests, I will never have too many. One of my favorites is this faux fur vest (Kya Fur Vest in Gray) that I ordered off of Joyus. My boyfriend refers to it as ‘that squirrel wrapped around my body’, but I think a faux fur vest is a Fall staple.

SMELL

Screen shot 2014-11-03 at 11.35.09 AMI think I need an intervention. Bath & Body Works had another 2 for $22 sale on their 3-wick candles and I may have gone a little crazy… again. You have not lived until you’ve smelt the Thanksgiving Morning candle. “Start Thanksgiving Day with the scrumptious scent of pumpkin pecan waffles, pure maple syrup and a touch of brown sugar.” OMG. YES, PLZ. brb while I have a scentgasm. (wut? idk)

TASTE

812821a397b30ce77760a255ec1bd651I was on a “cleanse” for 24 days of the month, so my taste buds were deprived for a majority of October. I found a few recipes for overnight oats on Pinterest and Instagram and experimented with a bunch of different ingredients. It’s a healthy breakfast that you prep the night before and can throw in your bag in the morning before heading out take to class/ work. -I also think I like them so much because you get to eat it out of a mason jar. TOO CUTE. (And then on Halloween I totally stuffed my face with as many Butterfingers, Twix, and Sour Patch Kids as I could)

SIGHT

Screen shot 2014-11-03 at 9.09.49 PMI’m REALLY not a TV person, but television gets so much better in the Fall. I’ve been watching Below Deck, Shark Tank, AHS Freak Show, and The Vampire Diaries religiously.  I am a big Vampire Diaries fan (and now anyone reading this who doesn’t watch it or understand how good it is thinks I’m a huge freak stuck in the Twilight obsession phase of 5 years ago). -However, The Vampire Diaries is SO good that they made a spin off on it called The Originals. It’s been keeping me occupied throughout the week as I wait for a new episode of TVD to air on Thursday night.  If I still haven’t convinced you to give The Vampire Diaries a shot, and are still looking for something to binge watch on Netflix, try: Orange is the New Black, Friday Night Lights, Desperate Housewives, or One Tree Hill.

HEARING

Taylor_Swift_-_1989

I’m not a fan of Pumpkin Spice so I have some extra Common White Girl Allowance left to obsess over Taylor Swift’s 1989. Even though I liked her the best when she was Country, I do love how different this album is. Favorite songs? Style, Wildest Dreams, and Wonderland.

Now that I think about it, I’m actually really upset about how fast October went.  I didn’t even get to watch Halloweentown or Hocus Pocus!! 😦

unnamed

Leave a Reply

