5 Senses of September

I can’t seem to wrap my head around how tomorrow is the the first day of OCTOBER. I thought it’d be fun to post 5 favorites at the end of each month, so let’s just jump right into it.

SIGHT:

Screen shot 2014-09-30 at 9.38.05 PM

I never realized how beautiful September is, the start of a new school year for the past 17 years has always distracted me. Although this past weekend was technically Fall, the weather was perfect and a few of my friends and I went out boating for the last “hoo-rah” of the summer. Everyone makes fun of me for saying that  I never want to live somewhere “land locked” … But there’s nothing more beautiful than the ocean.  I get an indescribable feeling when I look into the abyss and realize that there’s so much more out there in this world. -As we were driving back to our slip, I tried to take it all in. The sun had just begun to slip beneath the horizon, the water rippled as the boat navigated down the stream, the air was crisp, and the trees that lined the river  had the slightest of golden undertones. It’s like I was saying goodbye to summer and hello to Autumn at the same time.

TOUCH:

Screen shot 2014-09-30 at 10.36.14 PM

OMG. How have I lived for the past 22 years without a pair of L.L. Bean’s Wicked Good Moccasins. They are SO comfortable. I don’t know how else to describe them other than that it’s like putting your foot in a sheep’s butt. (OK, that was weird, but seriously.. I have been LIVING in these).

SMELL:

Screen shot 2014-09-30 at 10.48.42 PM

Bath & Body Works had their seasonal 2 for $22 3-wick candle promotion and I went a little crazy. I picked up: Mahogany Teakwood (which smells exactly like Abercrombie Fierce), Autumn Sky, Tailgate, and Leaves. I wish I could tell you which was my favorite but they’re all just TOO good. They had a ton of Pumpkin scents, if you’re into that. Fall candles are the best candles. I need to stock up on these before they switch over to their winter scents.

TASTE:

Screen shot 2014-09-30 at 11.01.35 PM

I signed up and received my first Nature Box this month. If you’ve never heard of it, it’s one of those subscription box things that sends you 5 healthy snacks each month. -I know a bunch of people who have tried out beauty subscription boxes like Ipsy/ Birchbox… but I would so much rather have food over dinky sized beauty samples. Wanna try it out? Get $10 off when you sign up through this link.  The Big Island Pineapple, Toasted Sesame Sticks, and the Sea Salt Pop Pops = NOM.

HEARING:

Screen shot 2014-09-30 at 11.06.48 PM

OK! I have a duo for this one. -When I got my iPhone 6, the Verizon guy asked if he made me an offer if I would be willing to give up my iPhone 4 iPhone poor. My phone had water damage so I couldn’t get the $200 promotion they had going on, but he gave me the option between: the regular earmuff looking Beats (that I would have looked ridiculous in), some speaker box thing that I would have never used, or Beats Powerbeats 2 Wireless In-Ear headphones. I chose the wireless ones and am obsessed with them. I couldn’t tell you how many cheap headphones I’ve gone through. I never realized what I was missing out on with a nice pair. They’re perfect for working out. At the gym, I can really tune the rest of the world out and just jam out to “Take you Home” by Thomas Rhett (fav song of the month).

PS- Somebody needs to go wake up Green Day. So long, September.

unnamed

Leave a Reply

